Jakobsruhe Central City Park
Sovetsk, crossroads Kosmonavtov
The history of the Jakobsruhe Park dates back to the 1820’s when the Garden Society was founded by H. Post in Tilsit. The society drained a part of the territory in 1825 making accessible approaches from two sides. In 1826, the landscaping of the territory began: fruit tree nurseries were laid and ornamental shrubs were planted. The orchestral shell and the Apollo theatre were built in 1828. The wooden entrance arch was made in 1829 (it was replaced with a stone portal in 1861, which still exists today). In 1855, the Meierwisch Stream turned into a beautiful clean pond with picturesque islands in the middle. In 1890, a new music hall was created and a water supply system was installed in the park later on. After World War II, the park was partially restored in 1951. The park covers 15.7 hectares. On September 22, 1900, an 8-meter high white marble monument to Queen Luise was erected in the park (sculptor H. H. Ebierliain). After 1945, the monument stood for no more than ten years, and a sculpture of an athlete was already on the pedestal in 1956. However, another 10 or 15 years later the sculpture and the pedestal disappeared. Only four steps leading to the square are left now of the monument. The park’s layout is made in a regular landscape style. Alleys intersect at right angle in the center. There are many beautiful clearings. The relief is hilly in the southern part. Picturesque groups of Douglas firs, spruces, pines, oaks, and lindens are growing on the slopes. In total, about 50 species of trees and shrubs are planted in the park. There are rare species among them, such as Canadian hemlock, black pine, one-color Silver fir, red oak, etc. There are two small lakes in the center of the park with a brook flowing into one of them. Forest beeches, white poplars, and pedunculate oaks are growing on the bank of the brook. There is a variety stage and a stadium in the southern part of the park.